Guru Review — Knowledge Capture, Search, and Reusable Team Knowledge for Growing Teams
Guru stores company knowledge as Cards grouped into Collections, and gives each Card a named verifier who is reminded to re-check it on a schedule (monthly by default). On top of that sit AI Search and Answers, which reply with citations and respect each user's permissions, plus connectors into Google Drive, Confluence, Notion, Salesforce and 100+ other tools. People reach it from a browser extension, Slack, Microsoft Teams or, through Guru's MCP server, from Claude, Copilot and Cursor. Customers named on its site include Shopify, SeatGeek, Lemonade and TravelPerk.
Guru's 2026 product is built around verification. Its Knowledge Agents now flag conflicting Cards, suggest merging duplicates and point out gaps, and a Verification Health dashboard scores how much of the knowledge base is currently verified. I look at how well that model holds up for an HR or support team, what the per-seat price means when every reader needs a license, and which teams get enough from verified answers to standardize on Guru.
The verdict
Guru is built around verified knowledge cards and search, so it fits teams that care about keeping answers accurate over time. The cost to plan for is that every reader needs a seat, starting around $25 per seat per month with a 10-seat minimum (estimated).
The strengths are practical: owners and review intervals on every Card, a verification score in Analytics, and answers that show up where people already work, in Slack, Teams or the browser. For a people team fielding the same benefits and policy questions every week, writing the answer once and letting Guru serve it is the payoff.
Buying it takes some work. Guru's pricing page lists no numbers and now sells the platform together with a team of solution engineers, so the rates above come from buyer reports. Cost follows headcount because readers need seats, and the amount of setup help you get depends on how the engagement is scoped.
Teams whose answers go stale fast, such as HR policy owners, support leads and sales enablement, will get the most from Guru's verification cycle. A team that wants a free-form wiki for long documents, or an HR suite that also stores employee records, should compare Notion, Confluence or BambooHR first.
Where Guru fits
Who it suits
HR, support and enablement teams at companies with roughly 10 to several thousand employees suit Guru best, especially where the same policy or product questions arrive through Slack or Teams every day.
It fits organizations willing to name an owner for each Card and act on the verification reminders, since that routine is what keeps Guru's answers trustworthy.
Guru syncs with BambooHR, Workday, Gusto and 20+ other HR systems for user groups, but it does not replace them. If you need an HRIS or a long-form collaborative wiki, start with those categories and add Guru later as the answer layer.
What it does differently
Guru treats every answer as something with an owner and an expiry date, which most wikis and document drives do not.
Each Card has a verifier and a review interval, and Guru nudges that person when the interval runs out. AI Search and Answers then prefer verified content and cite the Cards they draw from, so a new hire can see where an answer came from.
Knowledge Agents add a second check by spotting conflicting or duplicate Cards and gaps where people search but find nothing. The Verification Health dashboard reports the verified share of the whole workspace and lists the most-viewed Cards that need review.
Delivery is the last piece: the browser extension's Knowledge Triggers suggest Cards based on the page you are on, and the MCP server lets Claude, Copilot or Cursor query Guru directly.
How it gets bought
Guru now sells itself as an AI knowledge layer that other tools and AI assistants read from, not only as a place to write documentation.
The per-seat pricing model and 30-day free trial make it approachable to pilot, since teams can validate the capture-and-search workflow before scaling seats. Self-serve is reported at about $25 per seat per month billed annually with a 10-seat minimum, and Enterprise is quoted (estimated).
Cost is harder to pin down. Vendr's buyer data shows Guru contracts from about $8,200 to $120,000 a year with a median near $39,500, so finance should get a written per-seat rate and a defined services scope before rolling out company-wide.
Guru pricing, per-user model, and what to confirm with the vendor
Guru uses per-seat pricing and offers a 30-day free trial of its self-serve plan (per third-party sources), which lowers the barrier to a hands-on evaluation. Guru's site does not list prices, but buyer reports put the self-serve plan at about $25 per seat per month billed annually, or $30 monthly, with a 10-seat minimum. Enterprise, which adds AI Knowledge Agents, is a custom quote, reported at about $18 to $30 per seat per month in 2026 (all estimated).
Because every reader needs a seat, the most important planning step is counting everyone who will read Guru content, including people who never write a Card. At about $25 per seat per month (estimated), a 40-person team pays roughly $1,000 a month, or $12,000 a year. Get the per-seat rate, the 10-seat minimum and the scope of the solution-engineer engagement in the order form. During the 30-day trial, connect one real source such as Google Drive or Confluence and check whether Answers cites the right Cards before you add seats.
| Plan | Published price | Annual |
|---|---|---|
| Self-serve | ~$25 per seat/mo billed annually; ~$30 monthly; 10-seat minimum (estimated) | Not stated |
| Enterprise | Custom quote; ~$18-$30 per seat/mo in 2026 quotes (estimated) | Not stated |
Pricing last checked September 25, 2026. View source
What Guru's per-user pricing model means for budgeting
Guru is priced per user, so your total cost is driven by how many people need licensed access to the knowledge base. This makes seat planning the central budgeting exercise: decide who needs to author and manage knowledge versus who only needs to search and read, and confirm with the vendor how each role is licensed.
Guru's pricing page shows no rates and routes everyone to a sales call. Treat the reported figures (about $25 per seat per month billed annually, $30 monthly, 10-seat minimum, estimated) as a starting point and confirm the number in writing, including any annual commitment terms.
What buyers should confirm about Guru plans and implementation
Third-party sources describe a 30-day free trial of the self-serve plan with no credit card. Load 50 or so real Cards, assign verifiers, install the Slack or Teams app and ask the questions your team gets most. Thirty days is also long enough to see the first monthly verification reminders go out.
Guru's pricing page bundles knowledge architecture design, agent configuration, integration setup and ongoing optimization with the platform. Ask which of those your contract actually includes, whether a 10-seat self-serve account gets any of it, and put the per-seat price and minimum in the same document.
Guru features: knowledge capture, search, workflow approvals, and reporting
Guru Cards, Collections, and verification
Content in Guru lives in Cards, which are grouped into Collections with their own permissions. Each Card has a verifier and a verification interval, one month by default, and shows readers whether it is verified.
Search, Answers, Knowledge Agents and analytics all build on that verified state, so the Card structure matters more than in a typical wiki.
Guru verifiers and review intervals. The verifier owns the Card and gets a notification when its interval lapses. Verifiers can be individuals or groups, which suits HR policies owned by a small team rather than one person.
Guru Cards created from Slack and Teams. The Slack and Teams apps let someone turn a useful chat answer into a Card without leaving the conversation, and let colleagues search Guru from the same place.
Guru AI Search, Answers, and connected sources
AI Search queries Guru Cards and connected sources such as Google Drive, Dropbox, Box, OneDrive, Confluence, Notion, Jira and Salesforce. Answers writes a reply with citations and follows each user's permissions.
For a people team, that means an employee asking about parental leave gets the verified policy Card rather than an old PDF from a shared drive.
Guru Knowledge Triggers in the browser. The Chrome and Edge extensions include Knowledge Triggers, which suggest relevant Cards based on the page or tool you have open, so agents see the answer without searching.
Guru MCP server for AI assistants. Guru's MCP server exposes its content to Claude, Microsoft Copilot and Cursor, and Guru also lists ChatGPT as a place to search from, so AI tools can answer from verified Cards.
Guru Knowledge Agents and automated quality checks
Knowledge Agents automate much of the review work: they can verify or unverify Cards, spot conflicts between Cards, suggest merges for duplicates and flag knowledge gaps.
Guru also sells agent configuration as part of its services, which suggests the agents need tuning to your content before they are reliable.
Guru conflict and duplicate detection. When two Cards give different answers, for example two versions of an expense policy, the agents flag the conflict so the owner can fix or merge them.
Guru knowledge gap reports. Knowledge Agents also report questions people ask that no Card answers, which gives owners a list of Cards to write next.
Guru Analytics and Verification Health
Guru Analytics includes a Verification Health dashboard with a workspace-wide verification score, the share of Cards that are currently verified.
Knowledge managers can track that score monthly and see whether owners are keeping up as the knowledge base grows.
Guru Unverified Cards by verifier. This report lists unverified Cards by owner and group, so an admin can see which teams need a nudge or help.
Guru Most urgent Cards to verify. This report ranks unverified Cards by traffic, so the most-read out-of-date answers get fixed first.
Guru apps, security, and deployment
Guru is hosted SaaS reached through the web app, Chrome and Edge extensions, Slack, Microsoft Teams, and iOS and Android apps. It is also sold through AWS Marketplace.
Guru lists SOC 2 Type 2 and HIPAA readiness, plus SSO, SCIM, DLP masking, encryption and audit logs under its enterprise governance features.
Guru mobile apps. The iOS and Android apps support searching, viewing, sharing and copying Cards, and asking Answers a question. Editing and admin work need the web app or Slack.
Guru SSO, SCIM, and HRIS sync. Identity integrations cover Okta, Azure AD, OneLogin, Ping Identity and others, and HRIS sync with BambooHR, Workday, Gusto, Paylocity and Personio keeps user groups current as people join or move teams.
Guru trial, sales process, and first setup
Third-party sources describe a 30-day self-serve trial with no credit card, while Guru's pricing page steers buyers to a call with its team. Ask sales for trial access if the signup is not offered.
Run the trial and the quote in parallel: the trial tells you whether verification works for your team, and the quote tells you what 10, 50 or 200 seats will really cost.
Guru pilot content to load first. Start with the 30 questions your team answers most often, write each as a Card with a verifier, and connect one source such as Google Drive to see how Answers mixes the two.
Guru quote and services scope. Ask for a quote that lists the per-seat rate, the 10-seat minimum, billing terms and which services (architecture design, agent configuration, integration setup) are included.
Guru pros and cons: search, capture, approvals, and reporting
Strengths
Guru Cards give every answer an owner and a review date
A Guru Card is a short, single-topic answer, such as a PTO policy or a refund rule, filed in a Collection and assigned a verifier. The verifier gets a reminder when the review interval lapses, and the Card shows readers whether it is currently verified.
That solves the usual wiki problem of pages nobody owns. When a policy changes, there is one named person responsible for the Card, and readers can see the last verification date.
Cards can also be created from Slack or Teams threads, so an answer given in chat does not disappear once the thread scrolls away.
Guru AI Search and Answers cite their sources and respect permissions
Guru's AI Search looks across Cards and connected sources such as Google Drive, OneDrive, Confluence, Notion and Salesforce. Answers writes a reply and cites the Cards or files it used.
Results are permission-aware, so an employee never gets an answer built from a document they cannot open, which matters for HR content such as compensation bands.
Because citations point back to a verified Card, readers can check the source instead of trusting a bare AI answer.
Guru Knowledge Agents flag conflicts, duplicates and gaps
Knowledge Agents run in the background over your content. They can verify or unverify Cards, detect two Cards that contradict each other, propose merging duplicates and report topics people search for without finding an answer.
One customer quoted on Guru's site says the team no longer reviews knowledge accuracy by hand, and Guru claims customers move from 60% to 100% of knowledge assessed and verified.
Those are vendor figures, so test the agents on your own content during the trial before relying on them.
Guru Verification Health analytics show what needs review
The Verification Health dashboard gives a workspace-wide verification score, the percentage of Cards currently verified.
Reports such as Unverified Cards by verifier and Most urgent Cards to verify show which owners are behind and which high-traffic Cards to fix first.
A people ops lead can take that list into a weekly meeting instead of guessing which policies are out of date.
Guru answers people inside Slack, Teams, the browser and AI assistants
Guru has apps for Slack and Microsoft Teams, extensions for Chrome and Edge, and iOS and Android apps for searching and reading Cards on a phone.
Knowledge Triggers in the extension suggest relevant Cards based on the page or tool you have open, for example a support ticket.
Guru's MCP server also lets Claude, Microsoft Copilot and Cursor pull verified Guru content into their own answers.
Guru's 30-day trial lets a team test verification on real content
Third-party sources list a 30-day free trial of the self-serve plan with no credit card required, although Guru's own pricing page now leads with a sales call.
As hosted software with a Slack app and browser extension, a pilot needs no servers and can be running the same day.
A month is enough to see whether verifiers act on their reminders, which predicts whether Guru will stay accurate after rollout.
Limitations
Guru's pricing page shows no numbers
Guru's pricing page describes a platform-plus-expertise package tailored to company size and asks you to book a call. No plan rates appear on it.
Buyer reports put self-serve at about $25 per seat per month billed annually with a 10-seat minimum, and Enterprise is a custom quote (estimated), so the per-seat rate, minimums, and commitment length all need to be confirmed in writing.
Vendr's range of about $8,200 to $120,000 a year shows how widely deals vary, so a finance team needs a written quote for its exact seat count.
Guru's setup services are scoped per deal
Guru's pricing page lists solution engineers, knowledge architecture design, agent configuration and integration setup as part of the offer, with the scope set in the first sales conversation.
That is useful for a large migration, but it means two customers of similar size can get very different amounts of help.
If you are moving thousands of Confluence pages or SharePoint files, list the services you expect in the contract so they are not dropped after signature.
Guru's per-user model means cost scales with headcount
Because Guru is priced per user, total cost grows directly with the number of licensed seats. For larger teams, this can become a meaningful line item as adoption spreads.
Ask whether read-only users, or people who only ask questions through Slack, Teams or an MCP client, need full seats, and get the answer in writing.
At about $25 a seat, 200 readers cost roughly $5,000 a month, so model the full rollout rather than the pilot group.
Guru is a knowledge base, not a full HR or operations suite
Guru holds answers and documents. Employee records, payroll and time off stay in your HRIS, which Guru syncs with to manage user groups.
Buyers hoping one vendor will cover HR administration and the policy handbook will still need BambooHR, Workday or a similar system next to Guru.
The HRIS sync list (BambooHR, Gusto, Workday, Paychex, Paylocity, Personio and 20+ more) keeps that pairing low-effort.
Guru is cloud-only, and its mobile apps cover reading, not editing
Guru runs as hosted SaaS, and I found no self-hosted option. The iOS and Android apps handle searching, viewing and sharing Cards; editing needs the web app or Slack.
Guru lists SOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA readiness, SSO and SCIM through Okta, Azure AD or OneLogin, DLP masking and audit logs, which covers most security reviews.
Organizations that require on-premise or air-gapped hosting will not be able to use it.
Guru's value depends on consistent capture and maintenance discipline
Guru's accuracy depends on verifiers acting on their reminders. Knowledge Agents reduce the manual work, but someone still has to own each Collection.
If reminders are ignored, the verification score drops and Answers cites unverified Cards, so the review habit matters as much as the software.
Before rollout, assign owners by Collection and decide who watches the Verification Health dashboard each month.
Guru no longer lists per-seat plans on its pricing page; each quote is scoped to company size, knowledge complexity and AI maturity, and includes a solution engineering team. Its Knowledge Agents return cited, permission-aware answers inside tools such as Slack, Microsoft Teams, Salesforce and Zendesk through 100-plus integrations.
Guru demo and 30-day trial checks for Answers and verification
A Guru evaluation comes down to whether AI Answers cite the right Cards for your questions, whether owners keep up with verification, and what the seat count really costs. Four checks for the demo and trial:
- Test Answers with your own content during the 30-day trial. Load real policies as Cards, connect one source such as Google Drive or Confluence, and have employees ask the questions they bring to HR most often through Slack or Teams. Check that each reply cites a verified Card and that permission-restricted content stays hidden from people who should not see it.
- Get the per-seat price, the 10-seat minimum and billing terms in writing. Guru's pricing page shows no numbers, so ask for a quote for your exact seat count, whether readers who only use Slack, Teams or an MCP client need full seats, and whether you need Enterprise for Knowledge Agents or the self-serve plan (reported at about $25 per seat per month billed annually, estimated) is enough.
- Pin down the services scope. Guru's pricing page includes solution engineers, knowledge architecture design, agent configuration and integration setup, but the amount is set per deal. If you are migrating a large Confluence or SharePoint library, list the migration and setup work you expect in the order form.
- Walk through the verification cycle with the people who will own it. Assign verifiers to a few Collections, let the interval run, and look at the Verification Health dashboard at the end of the trial. If owners ignore reminders during a pilot, they will ignore them after launch, and Answers will start citing stale Cards.
How we evaluated Guru
Rajat worked through Guru directly. Every figure below was checked against Guru's published pricing on September 25, 2026. Follow the link and check it yourself — if the vendor has moved since, that date tells you how stale this page is.
Plans as published
| Plan | List price |
|---|---|
| Self-serve (estimated) | ~$25/seat/month billed annually (~$30 monthly); 10-seat minimum |
| Enterprise | Custom quote |
Trial: 30-day free trial of the self-serve plan, no credit card (per third-party sources)
What the list price doesn't cover
Per-user cost scales with headcount as adoption spreads
Because Guru is priced per user, total cost grows directly with the number of licensed seats. A pilot with a small core team looks inexpensive, but company-wide adoption multiplies the per-user fee across everyone who needs access. The mitigation is seat discipline: decide who genuinely needs licensed access versus occasional or read-only use, and confirm with the vendor how each is licensed. Model the cost at full rollout, not just the pilot group, before committing.
Quote-based terms, reader seats and Enterprise-only AI
Because Guru's pricing is quote-based, the per-seat rate, seat minimum and commitment length all need to be confirmed in writing. Third-party reviews also flag that everyone who reads content needs a paid seat and that AI Knowledge Agents are Enterprise-only, both of which can raise the total well above the self-serve estimate. Document the billing terms, seat rules and implementation scope before signing.
What we'd confirm on a demo
Get the per-seat rate and seat minimum in writing
Guru's per-seat rate is not published, and third-party estimates (about $25 per seat per month billed annually, 10-seat minimum) may not match your quote. Request a documented quote for your seat count, and confirm how read-only users are licensed, so finance can budget against a real number.
Confirm billing terms and whether you need Enterprise
Get the commitment length, billing cadence and renewal conditions documented before signing. Ask whether the AI features you want, such as Knowledge Agents, require Enterprise, since that changes the pricing model.
Clarify exactly what implementation support is included at your tier
Implementation depth varies by plan, so ask what onboarding, migration, and configuration help comes with the tier you are considering. This matters most if you are migrating a large existing documentation set into Guru.
Frequently asked questions on Guru Cards, trial, and seat costs
What does Guru do?
Guru is a knowledge base built on verified Cards. Each Card has an owner who is reminded to review it on a set interval, and AI Search and Answers reply to questions with citations from those Cards and from connected tools like Google Drive, Confluence and Salesforce. People use it through Slack, Microsoft Teams, a browser extension, mobile apps or AI assistants connected through its MCP server. Knowledge Agents and a Verification Health dashboard help keep the content accurate.
How much does Guru cost?
Guru's pricing page lists no prices and asks you to talk to sales. Buyer reports put the self-serve plan at about $25 per seat per month billed annually, or $30 monthly, with a 10-seat minimum, so roughly $250 a month to start. Enterprise, with AI Knowledge Agents, is a custom quote; Vendr reports a median contract of about $39,500 a year (all estimated). Every reader needs a seat, so confirm the rate and minimums for your seat count in writing. Third-party sources list a 30-day free trial.
Does Guru offer a free trial?
Third-party sources list a 30-day free trial of the self-serve plan with no credit card. Guru's own pricing page now leads with a sales call and does not mention the trial, so ask for trial access if the signup is not offered. Use the month to load real Cards, assign verifiers and test Answers in Slack or Teams.
What size teams is Guru built for?
The self-serve plan is reported to start at a 10-seat minimum, so the smallest practical team is about ten people at roughly $250 a month. At the other end, Guru's enterprise features (SSO, SCIM, DLP masking, audit logs, Knowledge Agents) and customers such as Shopify and SeatGeek show it is built for large companies too. Across 168 purchases tracked by Vendr, the median Guru contract is about $39,500 a year.
How is Guru deployed?
Guru is hosted SaaS. Users reach it through the web app, Chrome and Edge extensions, Slack and Microsoft Teams apps, iOS and Android apps, and AI tools like Claude, Copilot and Cursor through its MCP server. It is also available on AWS Marketplace. I found no self-hosted or on-premise option, so organizations that need air-gapped hosting should rule it out early.
What are the main pros and cons of Guru?
Pros: every Card has a verifier and review interval, Answers cites its sources and respects permissions, Knowledge Agents flag conflicts and gaps, and Guru reaches people in Slack, Teams, the browser and AI assistants. Cons: no prices on the website, every reader needs a seat with a reported 10-seat minimum, services scope is set per deal, and accuracy still depends on owners acting on reminders. Guru suits teams whose knowledge goes stale quickly and who want verified answers in the tools they already use.
Is Guru worth it for knowledge management?
For teams that answer the same policy, product or process questions every day, yes. Guru's verified Cards and cited AI answers keep responses current, which is a different job from storing more documents. The caveats are cost and effort: prices are quote-only, readers need seats, and someone has to own verification. Use the 30-day trial to check that owners keep up and that Answers cites the right Cards before scaling seats.
Alternatives worth comparing
Guru's per-seat cost for readers and its short-Card format push some teams toward other tools. Each of these four handles a job Guru does differently or not at all.
| Product | Pricing model | Free trial | Why buyers shortlist it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Document360 | Tiered pricing | Yes | Document360 is a knowledge base for product documentation and internal help centers, with [Eddy](/software/eddy) AI search, a workflow builder and 60+ integrations. |
| Confluence | Per-user pricing | Yes | Confluence is the natural home for long technical documentation in Jira-centric companies. Guru can index Confluence as a search source, so a team can keep specs in Confluence and short verified answers in Guru. |
| Helpjuice | Tiered pricing | Yes | Helpjuice is a knowledge base for support and internal teams, priced per plan with user caps rather than per seat. |
| Bloomfire | Custom quote | Not stated | Bloomfire is a knowledge-sharing platform with AI answers and automated content health checks, billed per plan rather than per user. |
| Slite | Per-user pricing | Yes | Slite is a lighter team knowledge base for docs and SOPs with AI search. Smaller teams that do not need Guru's Slack-to-Card capture, Knowledge Agents or enterprise controls often find it simpler. |
Head-to-head comparisons
- Guru vs Confluence
Guru and Confluence both show up when buyers search this category, but they're built for different needs. This page breaks down pricing, features, and what should actually decide this — in plain English, for buyers, not vendors. Not sure which fits? Take the quick quiz below to find out in 30 seconds.
Free templates for this
- Free policy
Social Media Policy Template
A social media policy template covering personal and professional use, confidentiality, and brand voice so employees represent your company responsibly online.
- Free policy
Anti-Harassment Policy Template
An anti-harassment policy template defining prohibited conduct, reporting, investigation, and non-retaliation so your workplace stays safe, respectful, and compliant.
- Free policy
Bring Your Own Device (BYOD) Policy Template
A bring your own device (BYOD) policy template covering eligibility, security, acceptable use, and support so personal devices access company data safely.