Rippling pricing: what buyers pay for the core platform, HR, IT, and payroll

How much does Rippling cost?

Rippling costs about $8 per employee per month for the core platform plus a $35 to $40 monthly base fee, estimated from buyer reports. Rippling's own pricing page is quote-only. Most companies pay $20 to $35 per employee per month once payroll, benefits and other modules are added, usually on an annual contract.

Prices verified Sep 2026. Sources: Rippling pricing page (quote request form, no list prices), Pin: Rippling pricing 2026 (updated May 9, 2026), Vendr Rippling marketplace benchmarks, PEO Clarify Rippling PEO review (May 2026), South: Rippling pricing 2026.

Rippling's pricing page shows no numbers at all. It asks you to request a quote. Third-party buyer reports put the core platform at about $8 per employee per month plus a $35 to $40 monthly base fee, which is the foundation every customer pays. It does not include payroll, benefits, IT device management, or any of the modules that make Rippling worth buying. The gap between that starting figure and what you will actually pay is large, and you should understand it before you enter a sales conversation.

This pricing breakdown pulls from third-party buyer data from Vendr, Pin, and PEO Clarify, checked in September 2026. Rippling's own pricing page at rippling.com/pricing is a quote form with no list prices. Rippling's modular model means your total cost depends on which modules you select, how many employees you have, and whether you need global payroll. The numbers below are estimates for the most common configurations, and your quote will be custom. Use this analysis to benchmark what you should expect to pay.

Written by Maya PatelFact-checked by ChandrasmitaReviewed Jun 13, 2026Last updated Jun 13, 2026

Use this Rippling pricing page to understand what buyers actually pay, what changes the cost, and what to verify before procurement.

Trial: No free trial (demo only).

Rippling pricing overview: what buyers pay and what expands the quote

Rippling structures its pricing around a mandatory core platform (estimated at $8 PEPM plus a $35 to $40 monthly base fee) that acts as the foundation for all other modules. The core platform includes the unified employee database, the workflow automation engine, app provisioning and deprovisioning, an analytics dashboard, and access to 600+ integrations. Every customer pays this regardless of which modules they add. It is the operating system that everything else plugs into.

The HR Cloud covers the modules most buyers think of when they hear 'Rippling': Payroll (estimated $6 to $12 PEPM), Benefits Administration (estimated $4 to $8 PEPM), Time and Attendance, Recruiting, and Learning Management. A company activating Core + Payroll + Benefits typically lands at roughly $22 to $35 PEPM. These estimates come from Vendr contract benchmarks and Pin's 2026 buyer data, checked September 2026, and your quote may differ.

The IT Cloud includes Device Management, App Management, and Inventory Management — the modules that differentiate Rippling from every other HR platform. IT Cloud pricing is not publicly disclosed and is custom-quoted through the sales process. Third-party estimates suggest $8–$12 PEPM for the IT module, but this varies significantly based on fleet size, device types, and security requirements. Companies adding IT to their HR stack should expect total PEPM to reach $30–$40.

The Finance Cloud covers Expense Management, Bill Pay, Corporate Cards, and Headcount Planning. Like the IT Cloud, Finance Cloud pricing is custom-quoted. Companies using the full HR + IT + Finance suite report total costs in the $40–$50+ PEPM range, according to Vendr buyer reports. At this price point, Rippling is more expensive than most mid-market HR platforms — but it is replacing multiple standalone tools, not just an HR system.

Rippling plans and prices, verified Sep 2026
PlanPriceBilling unitWhat's included
Core platform (Rippling Unity)~$8 per employee/mo + $35-$40/mo base (estimated)Estimated, quote-basedper month base fee, plus per employee per monthEmployee database, workflow automation, app provisioning, reporting and integrations; required for every other module.
Core + Payroll~$15-$28 per employee/mo total (estimated)Estimated, quote-basedper employee per month, annual contractCore platform plus US payroll with multi-state tax filing, direct deposit and garnishments.
Core + Payroll + Benefits~$22-$35 per employee/mo total (estimated)Estimated, quote-basedper employee per month, annual contractAdds benefits administration, carrier connections, open enrollment and COBRA to the payroll stack.
Full HR + IT + Finance suite~$35-$50+ per employee/mo total (estimated)Estimated, quote-basedper employee per month, annual contractHR and payroll plus device and app management, spend management and corporate cards.
Rippling PEO~$75-$175 per employee/mo PEO fee, on top of platform (estimated)Estimated, quote-basedper employee per month; rate falls as headcount risesCo-employment, access to large-group health plans, workers' comp and payroll tax liability handled by Rippling.

Rows marked “estimated, quote-based” are not published by Rippling. They are ranges from the third-party sources linked below; your quote will depend on headcount, modules and contract length.

What Rippling costs for 10, 50 and 200 employees

Rippling estimated monthly cost by company size
Plan10 employees50 employees200 employees
Core platform (Rippling Unity)Estimated, quote-based$118/mo$438/mo$1,638/mo

Monthly platform and module fees for US employees; excludes implementation ($1,000-$5,000 typical), benefits premiums and global payroll.

Prices verified Sep 2026. Sources: Rippling pricing page (quote request form, no list prices), Pin: Rippling pricing 2026 (updated May 9, 2026), Vendr Rippling marketplace benchmarks, PEO Clarify Rippling PEO review (May 2026), South: Rippling pricing 2026.

How to evaluate Rippling pricing before you talk to sales

Rippling pricing should be evaluated in the context of team size, operating complexity, and the commercial metric that makes cost rise over time.

Buyers should use this page to understand more than the headline price. The real decision usually depends on implementation scope, support level, add-on exposure, and whether the pricing model still makes sense once the team grows.

  • Clarify whether cost scales by employee count, recruiter seats, payroll runs, locations, or another metric.
  • Confirm what implementation, premium support, compliance, or service add-ons do to total spend.
  • Model pricing against the actual team size and operating complexity expected over the next 12 months.

Rippling pricing breakdown: HR Cloud vs IT Cloud vs Finance Cloud

For companies with 50–200 employees that are buying Rippling primarily for HR and payroll, the Core + Payroll + Benefits configuration is the right starting point. This lands at approximately $22–$28 PEPM and delivers the core HR functionality plus the workflow automation that makes Rippling worth choosing over BambooHR or Gusto. Add Time and Attendance if you have hourly workers. Skip the IT and Finance modules unless you have a specific use case — you can add them later without re-implementing the platform.

For companies with 200–2,000 employees that want the full unified platform, start with HR Cloud and add IT Device Management in the second quarter. The IT module delivers the most differentiated value — automated device provisioning, security policy enforcement, and lifecycle management — but it requires admin setup time that is better spent after the HR foundation is stable. Finance modules (Expense Management, Corporate Cards) should come last, after HR and IT workflows are running smoothly. Phase the rollout over 3–6 months rather than activating everything at once.

Rippling Core Platform — what it includes and who it fits

The Core Platform, estimated at $8 PEPM plus a $35 to $40 monthly base fee, is mandatory for every Rippling customer. It includes the unified employee database, the workflow automation engine, basic app provisioning, an analytics dashboard, and access to the integration marketplace. The core alone does not replace any existing HR tool. It is the infrastructure layer that modules build on. No buyer should evaluate the core in isolation. Its value depends on which modules you activate on top of it. Think of it as the cost of entry, not the cost of the product.

Rippling HR Cloud — what changes when you add payroll and benefits

The HR Cloud modules turn Rippling from a workflow platform into a functional HR system. Payroll (estimated $6 to $12 PEPM) handles US multi-state tax filing, direct deposit, garnishments, and payroll reporting. Benefits Administration (estimated $4 to $8 PEPM) covers carrier connections, open enrollment, life events, ACA compliance, and COBRA. Time and Attendance adds time clocks, overtime calculations, and PTO management. The combined HR Cloud with Core lands at an estimated $21 to $29 PEPM, close to BambooHR Pro ($17 PEPM published, payroll priced by quote) and Paylocity's estimated $18 to $22 PEPM for payroll and core HR. The HR Cloud is where most buyers start and where Rippling delivers its strongest return for traditional HR use cases.

Rippling IT Cloud and Finance Cloud — when the extra modules are worth it

The IT Cloud (Device Management, App Management, Inventory Management) and Finance Cloud (Expense Management, Bill Pay, Corporate Cards, Headcount Planning) are custom-priced and add an estimated $10 to $20+ PEPM on top of the HR foundation. These modules are worth it for companies that currently use separate tools for device management (Jamf, Mosyle), expense management (Expensify, Brex), or corporate cards (Ramp, Divvy), because Rippling consolidates those functions and connects them to the HR data layer. If you already pay for standalone device and expense tools, compare that combined spend against Rippling's quote for the IT and Finance modules. For companies without those standalone tools, the extra modules add cost without replacing anything.

Rippling hidden costs and what the pricing page does not tell you

Mandatory core platform fee and module stacking reality

The core platform fee (estimated at $8 PEPM plus a $35 to $40 monthly base) is not optional. Every module purchase includes this baseline cost. For buyers who want only one Rippling module, say just payroll, the core fee plus the payroll module (estimated $6 to $12 PEPM) means you pay roughly $14 to $20 PEPM plus the base fee for payroll alone. Gusto's Simple plan costs $49 per month plus $6 per person with payroll included. The core platform fee is justified when you use multiple modules, but it penalizes single-module buyers. Always calculate your total PEPM including the core fee when comparing Rippling to competitors.

Global payroll premium and per-country pricing tiers

Rippling's global payroll in 90+ countries is one of its headline features, but the pricing is significantly higher than domestic payroll. Global payroll is custom-quoted per country, and costs vary based on local compliance requirements, EOR vs direct payroll, and the number of employees per jurisdiction. Companies with employees in 5+ countries report global payroll costs of $200–$600 per international employee per month, according to Vendr buyer reports — substantially more than the domestic payroll PEPM. Factor this into your total cost comparison, especially if international expansion is the primary reason you are evaluating Rippling.

Contract length and renewal pricing considerations

Rippling standard contracts are annual with automatic renewal. Month-to-month arrangements are available but come at a premium — typically 15–20% above the annual rate. Renewal pricing is not guaranteed, and buyers should negotiate rate locks upfront. Multiple Vendr contract analyses recommend securing a two-year rate lock to protect against module price increases. Implementation costs are typically included for standard deployments but may be additional for complex configurations with global payroll or extensive workflow customization.

How Rippling pricing compares to BambooHR, Gusto, and Paylocity

Rippling vs BambooHR on price

BambooHR publishes per-employee pricing: Core at $10 PEPM, Pro at $17, and Elite at $25, with a flat rate starting at $250 per month for companies with 25 or fewer employees. Its payroll add-on is priced by quote. Rippling's comparable HR + Payroll configuration runs an estimated $15 to $28 PEPM. The difference is depth: Rippling includes deeper workflow automation and the option to add IT and finance modules at additional cost. BambooHR includes a more intuitive interface and faster implementation. For HR-only buyers, the pricing can be competitive once you have both quotes. For buyers who will add IT or finance modules, Rippling's higher ceiling buys capabilities BambooHR does not offer.

Rippling vs Gusto on price

Gusto's Simple plan costs $49 per month base plus $6 per person with full payroll included. For a 100-person company, Gusto Simple costs $649 per month, about $6.49 PEPM all-in. Rippling's HR + Payroll for the same company costs an estimated $1,500 to $2,800 per month ($15 to $28 PEPM), roughly two to four times the Gusto price. The pricing gap reflects a real capability gap: Rippling includes workflow automation, app provisioning, and access to IT and finance modules that Gusto does not offer. For companies that only need payroll and basic HR, Gusto delivers better value. For companies that need platform breadth, Rippling's premium funds capabilities Gusto cannot provide.

Rippling vs Paylocity on price

Paylocity is quote-based; 2026 buyer reports put it at about $18 to $22 PEPM for payroll and core HR and $26 to $33 PEPM for the full HCM suite. Rippling's HR Cloud lands in a similar range at an estimated $21 to $29 PEPM. The cost comparison is close, but the capability profiles differ: Paylocity has deeper payroll processing, stronger compliance features, and more mature benefits administration. Rippling has the workflow engine, IT device management, and finance modules that Paylocity lacks. For payroll-first mid-market buyers, Paylocity offers better depth per dollar. For automation-first buyers who also need IT management, Rippling offers capabilities Paylocity does not.

What the pricing comparison means for HR buyers choosing Rippling

Rippling occupies the premium end of mid-market HR pricing, but the premium buys platform breadth that competitors cannot match. If you are comparing Rippling to Gusto, you are comparing a Swiss Army knife to a butter knife — different tools for different problems. If you are comparing Rippling to BambooHR or Paylocity, the per-employee costs are similar, and the decision should hinge on which capabilities you will actually use. The worst Rippling outcome is paying $40+ PEPM for a full suite and using it like BambooHR. The best outcome is consolidating three or four vendor contracts into one and automating cross-departmental workflows that save 15–20 hours per week.

Rippling pricing buyer checklist: what to verify before signing

Map your actual module needs before the Rippling sales conversation

List every tool Rippling would replace: HR platform, payroll provider, benefits administration, time tracking, device management, expense management, and corporate cards. Calculate what you currently pay for each. This gives you a total cost of ownership baseline to compare against Rippling's module-by-module quote. If Rippling's total PEPM is within 20% of your current combined spend, the consolidation value and workflow automation likely justify the investment. If Rippling is 2x your current spend, you are paying for capabilities you may not need.

Get per-module pricing in writing before committing to the contract

Rippling's modular model means you may want to add modules after initial deployment. Get a written price sheet for every module — including modules you are not buying today — before signing the contract. This protects you from price increases on future module additions and lets you plan a phased rollout with known costs. Ask specifically about IT Cloud and Finance Cloud pricing, since these are not publicly disclosed and can vary significantly.

Negotiate global payroll pricing per country with volume commitments

If global payroll is part of your Rippling evaluation, get country-level pricing in writing for every jurisdiction where you have or plan to have employees. Global payroll costs vary dramatically by country — a single employee in Germany may cost $400/month while a single employee in the Philippines may cost $150/month. Commit to specific headcounts per country to lock in volume pricing, and ask for rate protection if you plan to expand to additional countries within the contract term.

Confirm the implementation timeline and what support is included

Rippling implementations range from 4 to 10+ weeks. Get a written implementation plan with milestones, deliverables, and escalation paths. Confirm whether implementation support is included in the contract or billed separately. Ask for a named implementation manager and confirm their availability during your timeline. Complex deployments with global payroll or extensive workflow builds should include post-launch support for 30–60 days to handle issues that emerge after go-live.

Request a workflow automation demo with your actual business processes

The workflow engine is Rippling's primary differentiator. Before committing, bring three specific workflows from your current operations — a new-hire onboarding, a department transfer, and a termination — and ask the sales engineer to demonstrate how Rippling would automate each one. If the demo only shows pre-built templates and not your actual scenarios, you will not know whether the platform can handle your complexity until after you have signed the contract.

Ask about data portability and exit terms for every activated module

Rippling's unified data model means your employee records, payroll history, benefits data, device inventory, and expense records all live in one system. Before committing, understand what data you can export and in what formats if you need to migrate off Rippling. Ask about data retention after contract termination, notice periods for cancellation, and whether module-level cancellation is possible (e.g., dropping IT Cloud while keeping HR Cloud). The deeper your Rippling integration, the higher the switching cost — which makes understanding exit terms essential before signing.

Frequently asked questions about Rippling pricing and costs

Rippling pricing is fair for what you get when you use multiple modules and use the workflow automation to replace manual processes and consolidate vendor contracts. The estimated $8 PEPM starting price is real but misleading. Budget roughly $20 to $35 PEPM for a working HR + Payroll deployment and $35 to $50+ PEPM for the full HR + IT + Finance suite, based on third-party buyer data. For companies that will use the breadth, the total cost is competitive with or cheaper than buying three or four standalone tools separately. For companies that only need basic HR and payroll, Gusto ($49 per month plus $6 per person) or BambooHR (from $10 PEPM, payroll by quote) deliver the same core value at lower cost with less complexity. Negotiate module-level pricing, global payroll rates, and renewal terms before signing. The first quote is always the starting point.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Rippling cost per employee per month?

Rippling does not list prices on its website; its pricing page is a quote form. Third-party buyer reports (Pin, Vendr) put the core platform at about $8 per employee per month plus a $35 to $40 monthly base fee. The core platform alone does not include payroll, benefits, or any functional module, and those are priced separately. Most companies pay $20 to $35 PEPM once they add HR and payroll modules. A full HR + IT + Finance deployment can reach $40 to $50+ PEPM depending on which modules are activated. The starting figure is real but misleading without understanding the module stacking model.

Does Rippling offer a free trial?

No. Rippling is demo-led and does not offer a self-service free trial. You must request a demo through the website, after which a sales representative walks you through the platform and builds a custom module and pricing proposal. This sales-led approach reflects the platform's complexity — the product requires configuration before it delivers value, so a self-service trial would not represent the actual experience. Ask the sales team for a sandbox environment with your actual workflows configured to get a meaningful evaluation.

Is Rippling payroll included in the ~$8 per employee starting price?

No. The core platform (estimated at about $8 PEPM) includes the employee database, workflow automation engine, app provisioning, and analytics dashboard, but not payroll. Payroll is a separate module that third-party buyer reports put at roughly $6 to $12 PEPM depending on company size (Pin reports about $6; Vendr reports $4 to $12 per module). HR + Payroll together typically lands at about $15 to $28 PEPM. Global payroll is custom-priced and adds further cost per country.

How does Rippling pricing compare to BambooHR?

Rippling's HR + Payroll stack at an estimated $15 to $28 PEPM compares with BambooHR Pro at a published $17 PEPM, with BambooHR's payroll add-on priced by quote. The difference is what you get for that price. Rippling includes deeper workflow automation, app provisioning, and the option to add IT device management and finance modules. BambooHR includes a more polished onboarding experience and simpler admin interface. If you only need HR and payroll, get quotes for both, since BambooHR's payroll cost is not published. If you need IT management or finance modules, Rippling's total cost is higher but replaces additional standalone tools.

What does Rippling IT device management cost?

Rippling does not publicly disclose IT Cloud pricing. The IT Device Management module, which covers device ordering, configuration, deployment, monitoring, security policy enforcement, and remote wipe, is custom-priced through the sales process. Third-party estimates put IT and device modules at roughly $5 to $20 PEPM, but this varies by fleet size and configuration complexity. The core platform fee (estimated at $8 PEPM plus a $35 to $40 monthly base) applies on top of the IT module cost.

Does Rippling charge implementation fees?

Rippling includes basic implementation support in the contract for most configurations. However, complex deployments — multi-module setups, global payroll, large data migrations, or custom workflow builds — may include additional implementation fees. Implementation timelines range from 4 to 10+ weeks depending on scope. Ask for a written implementation plan with all costs itemized before signing. Multiple Vendr contract analyses recommend negotiating implementation support as part of the initial deal rather than paying for it separately.

Can I buy only one Rippling module without the full platform?

No. Every Rippling customer must buy the core platform, estimated at about $8 PEPM plus a $35 to $40 monthly base fee, regardless of which modules they add. This mandatory core fee means single-module buyers pay a premium compared to standalone alternatives. If you only need payroll, Gusto's Simple plan costs $49 per month plus $6 per person with payroll included. If you only need device management, Jamf or Mosyle are cheaper standalone options. Rippling's value shows up when you use multiple modules and the cross-module workflow automation, which requires the core platform as the connecting layer.

Continue researching Rippling